Thursday , 25 July 2024

Breaking: APC takes over Ekiti Assembly

Breaking news Ekiti State House of Assembly



Some members of Ekiti State House of Assembly have impeached the Speaker, Kola Oluwawole.

They also sacked the Deputy Speaker, Sina Animasaun.

Both Oluwawole and Animasaun are members of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

Oluwawole, a staunch loyalist of Governor Ayo Fayose, was removed at about 11.00 am behind closed doors.

The lawmakers elected the former Deputy Leader, Adeniran Alagbada while the Minority Leader, Gboyega Aribisogan, was elected as new House Leader of Business.

Former Deputy Speaker, Segun Adewumi, was returned to his post by the lawmakers.

He was removed by Fayose’s loyalists earlier in the year.

Sunday Akinniyi was elected Minority Leader.

The new principal officers were sworn in immediately after being elected.

Alagbada defected defected from PDP to APC in June alongside his political mentor, Prince Dayo Adeyeye.

The minority APC lawmakers were joined by their PDP counterparts who will soon defect to the broom party.

The change in leadership was believed to have been effected in anticipation of the change of government.

Outgoing Governor Ayo Fayose will make way for the incoming Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, who will be inaugurated on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Timber by EMSIEN 3 Ltd BG